About Us


2016 Team Photo Banquet

The John R. Park Debate Society (the University of Utah Speech and Debate Team) is sponsored and housed in the Department of Communication in the College of Humanities. The team focuses on three main activities: sponsoring public debate events, high school outreach, and hosting and competing in intercollegiate competitions. The University of Utah Speech & Debate Team is one of the oldest in the western United States and has a long tradition of competitive success. For the last three years, the University of Utah has finished in the top 10 nationally. To learn more about the team’s history and focus, please click here.

We welcome students from any major and any year on campus to participate in one or more of our activities. For those interested, click here. If you have additional questions, email us


  • Averie Vockel
  • Braden Hooton    
  • Bryan Casselman         
  • Chris de Freitas
  • Courtney Nilson
  • Daniel Ybarra
  • Jacob McShane              
  • Jose Soto             
  • Pricilla Fehoko
  • Shad Wojciechowski
  • Sierra Golding-Johnson           
  • Zachary Ray


Michael Middleton, Director of Forensics

Jason Jordan, Assistant Director of Forensics

Robyn Moreno, High School Outreach and Public Events Coordinator

Loretta Rowley, Assistant Director, Individual Events

Benjamin Mann, Assistant Director, Debate

Rob Layne, Assistant Coach

Ian Summers, Assistant Coach

Duncan Stewart, Assistant Coach

Dakota Park-Ozee, Assistant Coach